Poets logo

Emotional Souvenirs

Memories of Anguish, Catastrophe, and Anxiety

By Charlene Elizabeth Holkenbrink-MonkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Emotional Souvenirs
Photo by Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

This poem was written during an immensely painful time that was riddled with confusion, nostalgia, and anxiety. I attempted to articulate the anguish I was experiencing by visualizing the various events in nature to capture the ever-changing thoughts and feelings.

Written by Charlene.

© June 2019

When I sit still I feel waves,

No,

Tsunamis of anxiety, engulfing my soul,

Eroding what's left, leaving remnants of what was once whole.

Deep, tight, clenching grief,

Few words can articulate the immense doubt,

Questions,

Reflections,

Collections,

Of memories from before.

Swirling, jumbled thoughts, overwhelming, enveloping,

Mind steeped with emotional souvenirs,

Turning away despite it all,

I fall,

Stalling,

Pushing aside the full pain,

Again,

For another time.

Turbulent moments turned toxic,

Then cosmic signs infiltrate,

Heart palpitates,

Suspicions validated,

But be still.

Years of truth reduced to mere moments that move tectonic plates,

Shifting the world beneath my feet,

Unstable,

Can't breathe,

Pleading,

Emotionally reeling,

Breaking,

Broken,

Gone,

Beyond repair.

But,

Here I am,

Writing,

Crying,

Surviving.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Charlene Elizabeth Holkenbrink-Monk

I've used writing to discovery my Korean family heritage and rediscover myself.

I use writing to express my anguish and grief, to share my joy and happiness.

I am me, and I want to share my imaginative world with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.