Poets logo

Embroidery

The gift of color from my family

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Embroidery
Photo by Ale Vargas on Unsplash

Years of weaving, folding, and sewing

Aged hands created a sea of needles rowing

The women of my abuelo's pueblo created cloth

They passed down a ring of colors,

Each and every hue ran to the north

----

Dyes incorporated shades of pink, blue, and green

Colors I wished to always see

I didn't know every nail that pulled on yellow strings

But I felt connected to the land and their sunset rings

----

I know I feel different being in the states

But I am bold because of the gifts they make

With blouses called huipils, I wear them to festivals

Even with dwindling serotonin, and the battles I face

Whenever I see clothing of rainbows, mouths produce euphoric chemicals

-----

I dance with the ghosts of ancestors and future generations

I wonder if I can fit in, being shades on the ace spectrum

Every night that falls, I grapple with the grays of frustration

----

I know that deep red blood keeps my aorta flowing

The wrinkled hands that still hold me,

Encourage my being to keep going

Whenever I wear white flowing tops

I feel that I can create again, even when I want to stop

----

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.