Poets logo

Em.brace

I like my hugs nothing like I like my handshakes

By Violet P. DaviesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Em.brace
Photo by Neil Thomas on Unsplash

I know that I hold on to you too tight

But I can't help it

I don't have much else to hold on to

.

I don't often speak my mind

But when I share the full breadth of my mind with you

You understand, or if you don't

You work away until you do

Did you know that that was rare?

With your thirst to learn and share

You seem to get along with everyone

Do you speak a universal tongue

Or do you roll with blank faces

And pop your biggest words on a shelf

Do you hoard contempt away to yourself

Oh let me help you carry it, I'll only cry a little

-

I know that I hold on to you too tight

But I can't help it

I don't have much else to hold on to

So let me put my trust in you

_

There's so much I haven't told you

And I might do

But I want to hold a place

Won't fill up all the space

In case of a day when your eyes turn black as coals

I hope I helped to bear that load

I hope the company kept entropy at bay

I hope you're ok

And if so, can you tell me how it feels?

And if you know, can you tell me what's real

Because I can only see about three feet in front of me

-

I know that I hold on to you too tight

But I can't help it

I don't have much else to hold on to

.

Yes I know that I hold on to you too tight,

But I can't help it -

I don't have much else to hold on to;

Please let me put my trust in you

Oh let me put my trust in you

Friendship
1

About the Creator

Violet P. Davies

Words make me feel fulfilled occasionally.

Keep track of me on Insta @purpleproseandposies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Me with trust issues be like 👀👀👀 Lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.