Poets logo

Ellie

"I miss the simple Summers spent with my friend."

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Ellie
Photo by Dakota Roos on Unsplash

Yellow sun peaks his head over the mountains

birds singing in the early morning

car rides to Ellie's house

sleepy eyes get heavier

until I arrive

Patchy dry grass

cool light blue sky

hot air swirling around

innocent laughter rings throughout

the peaceful neighborhood enjoys our show

Dark brown locks flowing in the air

running around her house

grinning silly smiles

passing the day by

until I leave

I miss the simple summers spent with my friend.

By 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Nostalgia. That's what this poem is all about – nostalgia. Every year, as we get closer to spring and summer, I am reminded of the time me and my best friend have spent together and I get all warm and fuzzy. We've literally known each other our whole lives. I couldn't be more blessed!

Check out my previous poem "Storm Clouds"

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, please share, leave a like or a tip, or read some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support and time, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram (deverswriting) or Twitter (doitlikederk).

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.