Poets logo

“Eight”

A Year of Change

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
“Eight”
Photo by Maximalfocus on Unsplash

I was eight years old when:

***

I came home from my four years of foster care,

A tumultuous time for everyone involved,

Especially me.

***

The first birthday party of mine that I can recall,

Even if vaguely.

It was Happy Feet-themed

With a pinata and plenty of people.

I still have the build-a-bear for the movie on my bed.

***

I joined my first Girl Scout troop.

They weren’t a good fit for me,

But I changed troops and was heavily entrenched with them until I graduated high school.

***

Despite the hardships, my eighth year on Earth paved the way for a lot of good for years to come.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Stream of Consciousness
5

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Drawn to your story!!! The title and graphic grabbed my attention. The number eight is my favorite on many levels!!! There are pivotal moments. You captured yours!!! Your story was beautifully written!!!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    That was fun to read! Love it!😍

  • The Dani Writer3 months ago

    Powerful number. Pivotal year. Eight represents infinity in numerology, I believe. This is such a precious memory for you to keep. I feel privileged that you chose to share it with us. *Head bowed*

  • Solid, heartfelt work, boss. Keep up the amazing writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.