Poets logo

Egypt Whispers

The Wild Fields

By Paige DePoePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Egypt Whispers
Photo by Color Crescent on Unsplash

All of a sudden, in dream, sublime

Things fell out of sync

Things

Fell out of rhyme

Voodoo images

the third eye

Can’t afford to blink;

Bad energy on the fly

A little warlock ran from the wood

“Keep your eyes open

You really should”

He cried and he wailed as he ran by

“Bad energy! Bad energy ! It wants you to cry!”

I won’t cry for the smiles

Or feelings of bliss

Won’t cry for those times

That cause my heart lift

Already, a past moment of time

You can’t steal them from me;

The memories are mine

So, strike up your serpents

Wave the wand in your hand

You will see me smiling

On the point that i stand

In past life, they killed me

With drops up my nose

You’ll never get to me

You can’t get that close

I see your monkeys

high in the air

A rainstorm is coming

You best beware

Your words echo, far,

Far through the night

“I’ll get you, you pretty..

And, so I must fight”

Shadow boxing won never a bout

The best you’ll accomplish

Is to knock yourself out

What will be, will be

Can’t change it, you see

Your monster is showing

And I..am just me

Projection throws me deep underground

What can you be hiding? As your stomach growls?

Satiate, salivate, lick your lips some more

Possessions will get me shown to the door

Your darkness hides under

Pure lily white

Unaware,

you trample sprites

In your plight...

Ten fold, tenfold

Let it begin

I am not playing, so there- you win!

Wings appear and I took flight

Leaving chaos in the fields

as day turned night

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paige DePoe

Writing is me. It is my passion. .....what I do. Words flow continually. The ones I am fast enough to capture; I share. Thoughts, perceptions & ponderance aspire to bring readers to a different place,a relatable moment and a want for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathleen maloneabout a year ago

    There is a lot to unpack here. I like the line, a past moment of time, referring to the smiles, bliss and heart lift. Then the memories are mine. The monsters and monkeys are bad thoughts we all have? Or are they an evil we all battle? I like the winning reference with I’m assuming the angel wings leaving the mess behind.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.