Poets logo

Ego Drive-By

A Sobriety Lullaby

By Cali LoriaPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
1
Ego Drive-By
Photo by Photos_frompasttofuture on Unsplash

Ye said

baby I'm free

like a homeless person

felt that

right in

my

no less

soul

less

self

I'm a 37

year-

old

baby

took away my

security

blanket

in

sobriety

found out

my

soul

sought

object

permanence

was too busy

looking

for the next

high

an ego

drive

by

no chill just

all cry

a little something to

calm my nerves

to polish pearls

shucks.

cheers

to the fat

men

getting

good

off

addiction

in for a penny

chow down

on the pound

what's flesh anyway

but a thrift store

find

for the wine

and dimed

feel so dumb

these days

cause I've got no

bandwidth

I got no man

with

no

sandwich

to stuff

my

insecurities

ditched the prozac

calmed the noise

apps

drew a line down

new girl in

old

town

live less

stag-

nant

now

leaning in

somehow

I came clean

to my teenage

daydream

girl

I still mourn my

potential.

I'm too dehydrated

to be

this

thirsty

so I let

my

God

serve

me

and

yes

sobriety

saved me

each drink

a noose

you could

hang me

co-dependence

my

nursery

you know sometimes it's

hard to be

freeing myself

from

me

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Cali Loria

Over punctuating, under delivering.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.