Poets logo

Efficient

Large spoons

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Efficient
Photo by Raul Angel on Unsplash

Screw you,

unimportant too-big spoon for my coffee.

-

I open the drawer

to remind myself you're not quite right.

-

Thank goodness

it took me only once to realize,

-

and not the ongoing theme

of seven years.

slam poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    You had me laughing from the very first, then laughing at myself as I recognized me in every single last line. "And not the ongoing theme of seven year"--perfectly punctuating this inner monologue with, I'm guessing, a soup spoon. (I don't even like using them for soup, even though people are always telling me I've got a big mouth!)

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Daahlink Lisa ~ You Go-Girl "Gag me with a Spoon" {60's Colloquial Expression} Your "Whole Bunch of Maybes" resonates with me! It Is your 'Calling Card' a part of your charm. Be~You; a very good thing. Ooh, for someone to say what you may write is "Dumb"...Is just Dumb! *I often don't know what I'm writing, as evidenced by my 'Alter~Ego'..we relate as 'metaphor' writers; my pleasure! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.