Poets logo

Education to Incarceration

The Journey towards freedom

By Mashal HaroonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Education to Incarceration
Photo by Ye Jinghan on Unsplash

In this country of freedom

I ended up confined

This felt like a phantom

To which I was assigned

They took me away

To a place filled with misery

I wish to pass away

Can’t live in such agony

Tell me what it was

That I did wrong

What were my flaws

That you brought me here along

Was it my race?

For which I became the victim

Or is it the case

Where the reason became the system

No one’s believing me

As I am shouting for justice

No one’s helping me

As I am wrongfully here busted

I lost all respect

Which took away my friends

Like a disease with severe effect

On which my life depends

I was supposed to graduate

And had some goals to achieve

But now I am an inmate

At a place I want to leave

I miss my loved ones

And I know they do too

Surrounded by people with guns

To which they are all glued

I am in pain

The one you can’t escape

I am here in chains

And my mouth covered with tape

The food I get to eat

Is the food I wish to throw

They call it here a “treat”

while I am in huge sorrow

I would rather starve

Then consume the food they offered

The food they cook to carve

Is the one you refuse when proffered

This is the world

We live in today

Feelings get burned

And the ashes fly away

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Mashal Haroon

At 17 years old, I found a way of digging into my soul and drawing my demons in the most beautiful way possible. Poems became my escape and enlightening others of the same treasure, became my goal.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • BUSHRA TANVIR12 months ago

    RIGHT. https://vocal.media/families/emotional-intellegence-and-your-child

  • Shari Khanabout a year ago

    JUST WOW

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.