Poets logo

Edged

falling through the layers of my mind

By Brenton FPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

this dream

this nightmare

this forever

this whenever

i close my eyes

and there i am

waiting

i'm at the edge

of a cliff

i'm at the edge

of a precipice

i'm at the edge

a skyscrapers roof

looking into the void

i'm about to approach

to meet

to become

a fall

waiting

to engulf me

to cease

my fragile mortality

waiting

to trip me up

to push me over

waiting

to dash me

to mash me

on the rocks

below

waiting

to smash me

to splash me

on the footpath

beneath me

as i fall

i wake

the motion

rocks me

jars me

tears me fearfully

from my slumber

in sweat sodden sheets

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    I love the duality of your work and the element of doubt that makes it so real. It's so human! And I think this is another great song of yours that I would like to know the music to :) I committed something of a similar style/subject: https://vocal.media/poets/hung-on-the-brink

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.