Poets logo

Ectopic Beat

'It happened for the good' still burrows.

By Biyanke' KPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Avocado Baby"-Art by Steve 

All things I do, I do from my heart

Even for a stranger my heart skips a beat

But one more time I fell apart

You foolish foolish person you!

Selflessly I give, I can give my life even

I sacrificed more of me the day I chose you

Boy, was I in eden

You foolish foolish person you!

I had college to complete, a culture complex

Family expectations accepting nothing less

Lies I would tell to avoid a loving ex

You foolish foolish person you!

I had dreams to make true, health to endure age

I held on to the mystery of you,

I believed in that change

You foolish foolish person you!

Had two hearts beat inside once; half of one ours.

Mine failed a little when I heard your words;

“It happened for the good”...still burrows

You foolish foolish person you!

But “You should have told me!”...haunts my innocence

Hating reminisce of unforgiving options I considered

Now it’s me I scorn in silence-

You foolish foolish person you!

Condemning myself—cursing the days of wasted heart-ache

Leisure rituals of smoking drinks at The Hour

Morning-after regrets and oh, Faith and Life course to re-take

You foolish foolish person you!

Now an angel in Heaven, on earth what is left?

Three scars on my stomach

scars right through my heart

You foolish foolish person you!

-Biyanke'-

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Biyanke' K

Keep your cup runneth over... #SpreadLove with #aBeat #poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.