Poets logo

Eclipsed

Stepping Out From the Shadow

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Eclipsed
Photo by Bryan Goff on Unsplash

Looking through my own eyes

Yet I see only your vision

Searching for my own way

All I find is your path

We are supposed to walk side by side

Yet I am always that step back

Our tracks but a single set

As my prints are inset in yours

I wanted to build a life for us

To be joint architects of a home

But the blueprint is solely yours

A blueprint for a single story abode

Your story

Within which I am but a minor character

I wanted to integrate our lives

Instead I am subsumed

I wanted to be your life’s partner

Instead I am your mirror

Reflecting only your self-perceived glory

As the moon reflects the sun's light

My job to support, adore, uphold

My accomplishments are yours

Your accomplishments … also yours

This ring upon my finger

Meant symbolize a partnership

A joining of two souls

Equal, loving, caring…

This ring may as well instead

Be inset in my nose

For your lead rope to be tied to

When did this happen?

When did I become solely your shadow?

My identity tied solely to yours

It is time, for me to step out

Step back into the light

Breathe free air under the sun

Where I am not eclipsed

I wish you well

But this mouse you trapped

In a gilded cage

Needs to be a free lioness

A lioness with an identity of her own

It is time for me to roar

Goodbye

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Excellent and emotive writing!! Good one Andrew. 😊👍

  • This is exactlyyyyyyy how I've been feeling yesterday and today. It became so overwhelming to the point I had a panic attack a few hours ago. I've calmed down now and reading this made me feel better. It's like you write this poem on my behalf and I appreciate that so much. These were my favourite lines: Reflecting only your self-perceived glory As the moon reflects the sun's light

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous & inspirational!!! Wonderfully written!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.