Poets logo

Eclipse

I was going to submit this to a challenge but I'm not Vocal+

By Nicole CPublished 22 days ago 1 min read
Like
Eclipse
Photo by Arnaud Mariat on Unsplash

Everyday, I'm faced with questions to myself; as a Millennial striving and existing. Working a job, but not growing into a career.

Casually, with all frivolity, how are we surviving? How are we making progress? For whom? In what ways? Short term losses, long term gains?

Lying, scheming, strategizing, and for what? How many Powerpoint slides does it take to shine a Light on each quarter? Like an Equinox, the corporate seasons of change.

I'm tired of the grind. The search for every decimal of that profit margin. The justifications of each and every email; drafts left unsent.

Peace and understanding -- that's what I need. A holiday, a break, a sabbatical? A temporary "shut down" -- the lights went out. Electricity is gone.

Spell it out for the higher-ups, upper management; what else can we do without wifi? How else can we work? Are we simply allowed to rest?

Everyone is waiting for a better economy. And soon enough, job ads on the horizon. Networking and communicating. A light seeping in. Hope for a new beginning.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.