Poets logo

EBD

A Poem

By NeishPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

We deserved a better ending than the one we were given,

Better than the one we ourselves had written.

I prayed for you not sin against me

But even when you did

You knew by God and I you would

always be forgiven,

I can't seem to exist in resentment.

I've tried a thousand times

To hate you when you've looked me in the eyes

And just casually lied.

How much I've convinced myself that I love you

should be a punishable crime.

I thought I knew how you felt,

That was until I saw you in the arms of someone else.

The degree of pain you've brought is intolerable,

I want my memory to be permanently stained on you

like it's not washable.

I must've been a temporary distraction

Before you decided you were done and went missing in action,

I prefer face to face relinquishment

I know that's probably too old-fashion.

I keep reflecting

Trying to see where I went wrong,

The coldest melody would be you

If you were miraculously translated into the form of a song.

You're inconsistent,

So I started to look at myself different and create some distance,

From the woman I once was

To the many women I transformed into

for you.

I've learned to tone down my shivers,

I can control my tears to where they flow gentler

than the calmest river.

When the day comes and you

tell your closest companions,

"I really miss her,"

Embrace the sting in your throat from the liquor,

And when they tell you,

"It's best if you just try to forget her,"

You'll take another drink,

Then you'll realize the thought of having lost me is more

strenuous to swallow and that the glass to your lips

With all the bitterness it contains,

Somehow has a sweeter taste.

With erasable writing utensils, I sketched our departure time and time again,

But the entire time I didn't know you were writing in pen.

I was the initiator for our beautiful beginning,

But you were the author of our odious ending.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.