Poets logo

EASTER MIRACLE

Written on April 1, 1945 by Jean Seeman

By Jean BurnsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
EASTER MIRACLE
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

'Tis Easter morning on this tiny island,

The sun has risen and the sky is blue.

The mighty ocean lies in peaceful slumber

The bush is damp with heavy tropic dew.

Out here you wouldn't know that it is Easter,

No fancy hats, or painted chick and duck.

Only the roaring guns and lapping water

And blood and dirt and steaming tropic muck.

There's not much faith in Heaven's greatest glory

I saw my buddy die ... I know he's dead

He won't get up, as in that Bible story

After he's got a bullet through his head,

Don't get me wrong, I do believe in Heaven.

Out here we know there's really such a place,

I do believe in the holy Resurrection

I saw that glory in my buddy's face,

You know, I had a dream last night, I'll tell you,

But promise not to tell the other guys.

It wasn't much, just a hallucination...

I saw my buddy come to life and rise.

Last night, as I lay sleeping up the beach there

Dreaming of girls and home, and all those things

I heard a voice that seemed to whisper "Waken"

And a rustling sound as of a million wings.

I opened my eyes, and there I saw before me

An angel bathed in Heaven's glorious light.

With a smiling face, and arms stretched out· toward me,

I knelt in awe before this wondrous sight.

And as I gazed I saw that there were others

All kneeling, with their heads bent down in prayer.

There was no moon, but the beach was bathed in glory

While all around ·a sweet song filled the air.

I rose and walked toward the smiling angel

Who reached out toward me with a gentle hand.

We walked together back toward the battle

The dead lay all around us in the sand.

Back we went, to the place where we had struggled.

Back to my buddy lying in the muck.

My heart grew cold as I gazed upon his body

Broken and lifeless, right where he'd been struck.

"Why do you bring me here?" I cried in horror.

"Take me back and leave me to my dreams!"

"Have faith, my child, 'tis sad, but it's not hopeless.

Your friend's not dead, though I know that's how it seems."

"I saw him die," I whispered, "Can't you leave him?

Give him some peace, for he has done so much."

The angel smiled and nodded, then knelt beside him

And reaching out revived him with a touch.

He woke, and in his face was clean perfection.

I'd never seen such beauty there before.

His eyes held wisdom and his smile was gentle

The pain and hate and fear were there no more.

There's not much more to tell, they led me back then

Back to the beach, and left me dreaming there.

Dreaming of home and happy Easter mornings

And going to church, and hearing the Pastor's prayer.

Was it a dream or did I really see it?

When I awoke this morning I went back,

Back to the battle line, and there I found him

Twisted and lifeless, sprawled in the muddy track.

Only a dream? And yet his lips were smiling!

Gone was the look of horror and of dread.

Did he rise? Did the angels really call me?

I don’t know. What really happens when you're dead?

As I made my way back

I could see in the brush

Flashes of ivory In the evergreen lush

And a rustling sound as of a million wings

And two golden eyes staring back at me

Was it a Barn Owl,

or the eyes of God?

Watching our movements with a million eyes.

And now, 'tis Easter on this tiny island.

Easter morning and the sun is shining bright.

No man can rise when I've seen him die in battle.

I don't believe what I know I saw last night.

And still the sky is blue above the ocean.

A perfume lingers as the south winds blow.

Easter in battle, and in me a new faith blossoms.

Is God in his Heaven? Only the dead can know.

April 1, 1945 Jean Seeman

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Jean Burns

93 years old living at Harmony Homes in New Hampshire. Lover of books, cats, wine, and cake.

All poems were written in my childhood and are signed with my maiden name; Jean Seeman.

All poetry is transcribed by my daughter and granddaughter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.