Poets logo

Easily-Distracted Autistic Brain

A little acrostic about autistic joy distracting me from the struggle to fit in.

By Catherine BurfordPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1

Don’t forget to blend in, okay?

I really don’t want them to stare at us again.

Stop, breathe, look both ways, and be like everyone else.

The only way to be loved in this world is to be the same.

Right, let’s get this over with.

Aww, it’s my special interest!

Couldn’t we wait a minute and obsess some more?

This gives me so much autistic joy I could flap my hands!

I SAID DON’T FORGET TO BLEND IN!

Oh great, now everyone is staring like I didn’t want them to.

Never going to let you be in charge of your body again.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Catherine Burford

I'm just your everyday Autistic Artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.