Poets logo

Easiest Breakup

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Easiest Breakup
Photo by Zachary Kadolph on Unsplash

This should be the easiest breakup ever since even calling it that wouldn't be true

This should be quick and painless and easy to pull through

We never made it official, so it should be a simple adieu

If we're being honest, this was probably long overdue

What do I do when I can't forget and don't know how to?

What do I do when I hear love songs on every playlist I go through?

What do I do when I see something and get that sense of deja vu?

What do I do when so many things I see remind me of you too?

What do I do when I want to talk and don't know who to turn to?

What do I do when I get those butterflies and ache for a rendezvous?

What do I do when I miss the things we used to do?

What do I do when I miss how I feel when I'm with you?

Watching you walk away from me, singing "I'd Rather Be Blind"

But I keep on moving, leaving my broken dreams behind

Trying to convince myself you're not the best man I'll ever find

This should be the easiest breakup ever, but it's not so easy getting you off my mind.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.