Poets logo

easier said than done

But still worth trying...for the In Eclipse Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
10
easier said than done
Photo by Tyler van der Hoeven on Unsplash

easier said than done, as

clouds gather over the horizon

long and lonely is the night, when

in dreams I am free but trapped,

peering with hope at what might be, as

shadows draped over the horizon remind me it's

easier said than done - to eclipse my past

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Thanks for checking this out, hope you enjoyed it. Click like, comment and all that shizz, so I can interact with you lovely people.

Here are some other things you might like

Acrosticsocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor5 days ago

    I like that this one is more tied to the speaker, and to their life. It feels like they’re reflecting on themselves as they see the eclipse. It’s never too late🙌

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    I’m h this is beautiful, Paul! Took my breath away at the end❣️

  • Gina C.13 days ago

    I relate to this - I think we all can! *sigh* that lingering regret despite trying to live in the present. You evoked some strong feelings in me here - well done!

  • John Cox13 days ago

    The past eclipsing the present, again and again and again. This is a really striking image and metaphor for a very striking poem. Really fine work. This one is going to stick with me for a while.

  • A nice Acrostic poem

  • Whoaaa, that last line! As a person who's living in her past, that line hit me so hard! Loved your Paulitical Acrostic! 🍩🥐

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.