Poets logo

Earth's Place

An In Eclipse Acrostic Challenge Poem

By Rachel DeemingPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
13
Earth's Place
Photo by Carlos Kenobi on Unsplash

Enter the Moon.

Coat for the Sun.

Light retreats.

In its place comes

Peaceful blankness:

Silence's stealth.

Earth's place becomes known.

Acrostic
13

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock25 days ago

    As easily eclipsed as existing.

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    A coat for the sun. What a picture. Beautiful piece.

  • Joe O’Connor27 days ago

    I like how short the lines are in this one, as I think an acrostic is made harder when you limit how many words you add in. "Silence's stealth." is my favourite bit!

  • Grz Colm27 days ago

    Nice work on your ‘moody’ acrostic! It’s such a credit to you that you are able to share so many different works..I.e poetry etc as well as some longer form stories amongst your micro story a day challenge. Impressive Rachel !! 😊👏

  • Oooo, I especially loved the coat for the sun. Your Acrostic was so beautiful!

  • Coat for the sun. That was unexpected and very creative. Your poem's flow is awe striking. Good, very good Rachel.

  • Caroline Craven27 days ago

    I love coat for the sun. … well I loved the whole thing but particularly this line. Nice to see you back. Hope Scotland was fun.

  • John Cox27 days ago

    You changed the mood for this one. It feels sacred and liminal. Very arresting poem, Rachel!

  • Daphsam27 days ago

    Wonderful job, you brought the reader in right away with your words and rhythm.

  • D.K. Shepard27 days ago

    “Coat for the Sun” is genius! Great acrostic, Rachel! This one leaves something to ponder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.