Poets logo

E.T.

Phone home

By Alaine HayPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
22
E.T.
Photo by Rick L on Unsplash

Greetings my friend, from places unknown.

I feel an obligation within, to show you my home.

This world is unpredictable, a fact I’m sure you’ll see.

But first let’s exchange names perhaps;…can I call you E.T.?

Unsure of the time we have, I won’t waste what time we do.

So I’ll skip the whole beginning, and hone into just the truth!

As I said in the beginning, unpredictable is this world.

As well as its inhabitants, a great mystery, one big swirl!

On any given day, a sinner can become a savior;

While simultaneously across the world, a preacher can show contradictory behavior!

So I’ll leave you with this lesson, as the two of us phone home.

On Earth take things with a pinch of salt, the rest is all unknown!

surreal poetry
22

About the Creator

Alaine Hay

Hesitantly optimistic, I feel my inspiration from my pain. An anxious, bipolar single mom, trying to somehow raise a well rounded teenage girl! Lol.Trying to gain wisdom through my downfalls, and spread hope through my success, despite them

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Fantastic work!

  • Berry Driven8 months ago

    That's a great way to describe the unpredictable life of an earthling.

  • I appreciate you all for taking the time to read this piece, and expressing your positive opinions about it. I hope you will continue to read more of the stories that live inside me, and somehow get joy, inspiration, or the knowledge that you are not alone. Ty again

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Love it 🥰 Congrats 😊

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Great entry! And congrats on your Top Story!

  • Elamine8 months ago

    Beautiful story, thanks

  • Test8 months ago

    Super cool! A very succinct critique of the follies of human nature! Loved it! Thank you! 🤍 Congratulations on Top story!

  • This piece is Awesome 👍 💯😉❤️🎉📝Congratulations on Your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    This is beautifully said Alaine. I am sure aliens have been watching us for a long time, they know all about us. But then again, who knows, your advice is veyy warranted. Lovely poem.

  • A. Lenae8 months ago

    This evokes a reassuring type of comfort within the very human experience of collective confusion; I like the friendly tone here a lot, especially when both you and the "alien" are phoning home. It's all shared, I guess. Really delightful poem. Makes me feel connected, instead of terrified, when it comes to extraterrestrials :)

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Fabulous entry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.