Poets logo

E.C.L.I.P.S.E

Promises (An Acrostic Poem)

By ImperfectlyPerfectPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3
E.C.L.I.P.S.E
Photo by Estefania Solveyra on Unsplash

Emotion filled eyes stare directly at me.....

Coaxing me to just say the words.....

Lies so casually slip from my mouth, but today,

I seem unable to articulate even the most basics of thoughts....

Persistently you goad me, over and over again....

Say the words my conscience screeches at me...

Eternal promises made under duress would never lead to longevity, so despite your desperate pleas, I turn and walk away.

Acrostic
3

About the Creator

ImperfectlyPerfect

My favorite well known saying: An amateur does it until they get it right, while a professional does it until they can't get it wrong. Don't work to get it right, work to not get it wrong!"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Wonderful absolutely wonderful @@@❤️❤️💕

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    That's so interesting or emotional story but I really liked it

  • Stephanie Hoogstadabout a month ago

    This a beautiful yet sad piece. It seems very relatable as well, the pain of faking emotions in a relationship long after they’re no longer felt and then needing the courage to call off the relationship entirely. Very well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.