Poets logo

Duvessa

Diatom, The Oceans Jewels/ Summer Sonnets

By Valentine VampirePublished 6 days ago 2 min read

Come into the water

Don’t be afraid of what you’ll see

You can’t swim, but you can dance,

Come into the blue and drown deeper into me.

My lungs have scars from where you've sunk your teeth inside me

I’m done for,

I'm sinking to the bottom of the ocean floor

Please,

Give me more.

---

Intense feeling

Beyond what life can give you

Only someone like me

You left the pond for a dip into the ocean

How big of a drink will quench your thirst?

This time, I don't want to sink alone

---

What have you gone up for?

You can use my lips as a lifeline, oxygen on demand

keeping my neck full throttle in your hands

Aquamarine veins and violet faces

But? Cinder blocks on my ankles

When did you put these on me?

How could you?

When you told me you would take me with you.

---

Always wanting more than what you had.

Ungrateful child.

Dead romantic

You tore your shirt leaving the surface,

And sailed away onto a broader horizon, waving the truest goodbye

Abandoning me here in this town, sand in my teeth, watching from the waves as they take me out to sea

As you leave me.

---

Red wine has never tasted bitter till now

Dancing in my garnet gown. Losing myself in the stars that I’ve cast over the ocean

Brought me down to my knees, lord, please don’t make me die on this stage.

Give me a sign,

Tell me he is turning around

A dream, perhaps an illusion,

Marching around down these halls, the only footsteps here are my own.

I'll leave the light on, but baby not for long

For when I smell those Marlboros out the back porch

Red headlights seem lightyears away under the abyss

so I'll destroy you the only way I know how.

A kiss

---

So I’m getting the hell out of this town, without you

Leaving all this behind, even the thought of you

My bitter bottle of red, clothes on my back, and my footsteps guiding me out of the trenches and back into the zone of light

I don’t have much now, just me and the open ocean.

A monster I may be, yes, bones under skin and leeches

A facade packaged with a heart shaped cupid's bow, blood red

I tried to love you, but baby you didn’t want my love

How many lies can I throw in a wishing well until they come true?

So, lover, my last gift to you: six bullets kissed with red lipstick and the word

Duvessa, x

Sonnetsad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Valentine Vampire

A collection of poetry and short stories :3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Valentine VampireWritten by Valentine Vampire

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.