Poets logo

Duty

To shake my wings out wide, serves me for nought,

By Bg DasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
	
Duty
Photo by Nagesh Badu on Unsplash

Oh, I am weak to serve thee as I ought;

My shroud of flesh obscures thy deity,

So thy sweet Spirit that should embolden me

To shake my wings out wide, serves me for nought,

But receives tarnish, vile dishonour, wrought

By that thou earnest to bless--O agony

And unendurable shame! that, loving thee,

I dare not love, fearing my poisonous thought!

Man is too vile for any such high grace,

For that he seeks to honour he can but mar;

So had I rather shun thy starry face

And fly the exultation to know thee near--

For if one glance from me wrought thee a scar

'Twould not be death, but life that I should fear.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Bg Das

Passonate writing and love writing poems

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.