Poets logo

Dusk

A poem for Frank

By Sara CrawfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My cat, Frank, who I had to put to sleep in February

I gave you my grandmother's blanket to curl up on

for the last hours of the day.

As you snooze, I remember how you used to hop up on the ledge for a

pet from my father in the morning or how you used to run away

scared at the sound of someone opening a coke can.

You used to be so tiny, but the void you leave now is vast.

Through breakups and divorce,

From a bohemian apartment to my parents’ basement to the first

space that truly felt like mine,

when I was collapsing and screaming at the moon,

or as a virus keeps us inside,

you have always been there to cuddle up on my chest and remind me

through sounds of content that all is not lost.

I can see you're exhausted now.

I can see the weariness in your eyes

as you make your way to join them:

my grandparents, my teachers, my mentors. The songs that made me

cry and the songs that saved my life.

It's almost dusk now.

The sun is dipping below the horizon,

close your eyes.

Take my love with you.

And let me sing you to sleep.

From Slip Away, a book of poems

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sara Crawford

Sara Crawford is an author, musician, playwright, and freelance writer from Marietta, Georgia. She has nine books published--poetry, fiction, and non-fiction--and she is the host of the Find Creative Expression podcast.

Instagram

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.