Poets logo

Dusk

A LATE EVENING VIEW OF WHERE I LIVE AS THE SUN IS GOING DOWN AND I'M STANDING ON A BRIDGE CROSSING INTO THE VALLEY FROM THE CITY AND THE RIVER IS FLOWING AND OFF IN THE DISTANCE I SEE THE DORMANT VOLCANOES THAT PEPPER THE HILLS ON THE WESTSIDE..THE PIC WAS TAKEN ON MY CELLPHONE.

By Victor MendezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I savor your sweetness,

Like a child toying a hard candy on a tongue..

Gravity pulls at the sun as I watch from atop a bridge on the river.

I watch her undulate,

Like a dancer in her sari,

Smooth, twisting, flowing...

Sensual and serene.

Shadows chase the last bits of daylight across her wet skin.

Lifting my gaze, I see...

Volcanoes... Jealous in their dormant power

Stretched crossed the horizon,

Like teats on a woman prostrate.

Sunset lovingly caresses a goodbye.

Tis the beauty of my valley,

Drawing eyes across a panoply of green,

Trees have shed brown dingy shirts,

Dressed themselves in emerald finery...

In honor of a lover twined within their midst...

I lean against the rail,

Traffic roars silently behind me

As tree and river

Hand in hand

Ripple and dance in their timeless romance.

I lose myself in the splendor of their nature,

As we three,

Look...

And feel the sunset kiss the landscape

In soft goodnight.

PEACE

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.