Poets logo

Duality of the Introvert

Villanelle for the cooler side of the spectrum

By Natale FelixPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Content to live in shades of black and blue

I'm at my best when unheard and unseen,

When I'm not talking half as loud as you

There is no pain in living as I do

I've restful days of reading by the sea

Content to live in shades of black and blue

And if I were to try and contribute

In indignation, still speak over me

When I'm not talking half as loud as you

I've built thick castle walls around my room

Sadness is muffled, but then, so is glee

Content to live in shades of black and blue

I've built my whole life around a bruise

And it's so much harder to disagree

When I'm not talking half as loud as you

The life of rare excitement before you

Is nothing but an anxious chore for me;

Content to live in shades of black and blue,

When I'm not talking half as loud as you

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Natale Felix

Writer. As you're reading this, there's roughly an 80% chance that I'm daydreaming about someday building my own house.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.