Poets logo

Drowning

trying to survive

By Yael SpodekPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Drowning
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

i look up

to nothing,

but

endless blue

i try to

make it back.

but,

i get pulled

further

and further

down.

i said i tried

to make it back,

i lied.

but,

how am i to try

when i

don't control

the strings?

these invasive

thoughts

of trying,

cloud my mind

as i

continue to

sink.

i guess,

it's less like

a sink,

more like

a forceful pull

but,

i'm not

being pulled up

oh no,

anything but.

down into

the "depths of despair".

i try,

well,

i want to try

but,

trying seems as

useful as

putting a clean

fork in the

dishwasher

and,

trying feels like

walking up

a down

escalator

but,

trying is all i have.

so,

i look

back up

seeing that

blinding blue,

and

i look down

at nothing

but

deathly darkness

but,

i don't

hold the strings

or

run the game.

so,

instead,

I cut the strings

I end the game

and

I lunge myself

up.

I fight

and

I fight.

but,

I struggle

feeling like

a knight

without

armor

or,

a shark

without

teeth.

and then,

after what seems to

be like

years, I breathe.

emerging through

the surface,

I am free.

but,

free doesn't

mean done.

I'm nowhere

near done.

the real battle

has just begun

to stay

afloat

and

to live

is to try.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.