Poets logo

Drowning in the deep

Can't move on

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
9
Drowning in the deep
Photo by Velizar Ivanov on Unsplash

Running at a pace I can’t afford to keep

Gotta make a change i find Im drowning in the deep

Too far and I can’t go back

Cant go forward can’t stay here

Admitting that I can’t keep up

leaves me struggling with fear

And I know that we had something

Like nothing ever before

A magic like a fire inside that wouldn’t be ignored

But we let it slip away let it go without a fight

Like it wasn’t the air We needed like it didn’t change our lives

I feel Im watching my life go by like a movie im not in

Standing on the outside playing a game I can’t win

A bus fair at the airport with no ticket for the flight

A word game and my mind is blank

last call on a Friday night

The bottom of the barrel at bottom of the list

bottom of the totem pole a pull that you resist

I don’t know where or how or why you even keep me here

Not quite in and not quite out

And its painfully unclear

Where or what we are or will we ever be again

I just cant keep it up and I just can’t let it end

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.