Poets logo

Drowned Hope

Living with mental illness

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Drowned Hope
Photo by Joshua Fuller on Unsplash

Beguiled by voices that drown out hope,

Tormented by demons of the past,

Unbearability of battle has put me on the end of my rope,

Thoughts of pain and despair come at me fast.

I seem to be at the point of no return

Feel like my life has been a huge mistake.

In my heart I feel an overwhelming burn,

In my mind I sense this is all I can take.

I try to make a sound but nobody hears me.

The unforgettable pain just won’t go.

I wish that I am dreaming and this can not be

While times like this it seems I can not fall more low.

Yet like the Asian Phoenix I will rise from my ashes

The subtle foe of defeat will not claim me.

When my inner strength and disability clashes,

I know for a while I can temporarily be free.

vintage
3

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.