Poets logo

Dromedary Bill

The elk in my backyard

By Q.KPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I don't know the names of the tree's in my backyard. Are they spruce? Or pine? Maples galore? Do they all shed in the autumn? Is this the one where acorns come from? What's a badger? What's a groundhog? Are dandelions all that bad?

I wasn't taught any of this.

I was taught what a square was.

I was taught what a conjunction was.

I know that Louis the XIX was called the Sun-King.

It's just such a pity that I can't seem to figure out what the hell those woody things are called.

Until I met Bill.

Bill told me he was a dromedary.

And he's pretty woody as they come.

But I don't think he knows what a dromedary is.

See I think he's actually an elk.

But I don't want to be rude, and Bill is a very polite elk/dromedary.

So I went along with it.

Bill likes lasagna, fresh water and the sound of Bill Murray laughing.

Bill's a good dromedary/elk.

Be like Bill.

A bit confused.

But with a helluva lot of spirit.

Good ol' Bill.

My woody dromedary friend.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Q.K

Words with a pen

Again and again

Turning around

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.