Poets logo

Drink Up

When I feel it, I know it's real.

By Nicole AlexisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Drink Up
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

Alone at night, she speaks to me through the whispers of opened windows.

The wind blows through the curtains as I stare into the void.

I have nothing to calm my anxious mind,

but I know just how to do it.

I breathe in and out, knowing that my mind creates my own reality.

I repeat my affirmations until they fill my soul.

I am safe.

I am safe.

I am safe.

I am safe.

And when I feel it, I know it's real.

I take that golden feeling that I created and I bottle it up.

I keep it in the freezer, stored safely in my mind.

Now I know its there, and its ready for whenever I need it.

I can take it as a slushee, or I can let it thaw.

I can chill it over ice, or I can steam it, pour it into my latte.

Now when I'm panicked, I drink up that golden feeling.

Drink it up, up, up.

Drink it all up.

I am safe.

I am safe.

I am safe.

I am safe.

And when I feel it, I know it's real.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Nicole Alexis

A 22 year old romantic with a lust for life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.