Poets logo

Dreams of R'lyeh

A Poem

By Anthony MarquettePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Unsplash Image

I heard a voice whisper, then rise and scream,

Calling me to a land beyond the moon's gleam.

A city of ancient, cyclopean stone,

R'lyeh emerged from watery depths unknown.

Its streets were empty, its buildings tall,

A sense of dread emanating from its walls.

The whispers seeped into my soul,

My mind and body losing control.

The cats of Ulthar roamed the streets,

Their eyes like fire in the darkness that meets.

Their purrs and meows a soothing sound,

That kept my mind from crumbling to the ground.

I wandered through the empty squares,

The moonlight fading behind a cloud of despairs.

As I roamed the city's ancient sway.

I could hear slithering movements in disarray.

The voices changed to a tone of allure,

Repeating the hideous name of Hastur.

I turned and ran to make my way back,

Sensing that I was on the verge of attack.

The cats of Ulthar by my side,

Guiding me through the darkness, helping me hide.

As I left the city of R'lyeh behind,

I wondered why I would have a dream so unkind.

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    This had a very "H. P. Lovecraft" feel to it. The imagery was awesome! Great job!

  • Caitlin Roseabout a year ago

    Adore your rhyming scheme! Such a creatively written concept.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.