Poets logo

Dreams in Blood Red Hues

Nightmare Villanelle

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Dreams in Blood Red Hues
Photo by Joshua Rondeau on Unsplash

Do not come calling tonight.

Terrifying dreams resurrected from fears so real.

My shadow dancer always in a fight.

Dark musings of my subconscious, hidden from the daylight.

My secret garden of veiled disquiet knows how I feel.

Do not come calling tonight.

Dreams that leave me with screams and upright.

In the darkness of the night my demon’s debut in full view.

My shadow dancer always in a fight.

Nightly battles render me languid despite,

Long hours of manifested worries on the peel.

Do not come calling tonight.

Tis too much to ask for a peaceful dream of delight?

My life is not so full of dangerous pursue.

My shadow dancer always in a fight.

Nay, vampire of fears like slippery eels,

Suck visions of beauty, leaving scenes blood red hues.

Do not come calling tonight.

My shadow dancer always in a fight.

performance poetryVillanelleMental Health

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Tonight I am far away. I fear vampiric dreams are about this night. Rest well, I surely hope.

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    It's intensely evocative and so dark! I loved it!

  • Wonderfully dark

  • C. Rommial Butler6 months ago

    What strange creatures we are, indeed, to dance with shadows! Well-wrought!

  • This was so dark and poignant! I loved it so much!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    🤍

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.