Poets logo

Dreaming of War

Treacherous Nature

By Sam RossiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The round table meeting

I dreamt I killed many a man,

I dreamt of bloodshed on my hands.

At first I said, "It's just a game"

But in the end I began to shake.

I heard the sounds of tearing flesh,

I felt the burden on my chest.

I dropped my weapon,

Grabbed another again.

It's scary to say...

...but it was mine or their end.

Our battle raged on,

An unforgiving war.

Every man and woman now tired and sore.

I held my breath as I finally gave in...

The last one standing of my allies and friends.

I dropped my weapon to the ground.

The enemy circled round.

I closed my eyes.

So close to my end...

But then I heard a voice of a familiar friend.

My eyes shot open,

There he stood.

Body and face covered by cloak and hood.

He offered me his hand,

Promising me my life...

The only catch.

Switch my side,

Stand next to him,

Learn to love him in time.

His offer, though not perfect,

Seemed one I could not deny.

I took his hand

He held me close;

It was then I awoke,

The only word to escape being

"Traitor".

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sam Rossi

Hi! I don’t have much to say really. My name is Sam, and I want to share my writings with everyone. I hope you all enjoy. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.