Poets logo

Dreaming By the Moonlight

In the Dreamtime

By Kent BrindleyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dreaming By the Moonlight
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Another night to sleep and rest

Perchance to dream of what is best;

or maybe WORST to disturb this slumber

A nightmare to place my heart and mind assunder.

A dream, in particular, I still remember in the forefront of my mind

Though retelling may not quite do it kind...

One beach, one crush, myself; in the twilight Summer air

Joined on a date by Summer's eve, and neither of us with many more cares.

A chance for a kiss, even in a blatant dream, this just might

Be my moment to make things right.

A moment passes; a disruption!

Who is this to enter the world with such interruption???

A glance to tell an interloper to take flight,

In return for a chance to make love mine this night.

But, wait, behold; who's THIS here?

An ELEMENTARY schoolmate I once held dear???

More, they keep coming; my mind is thoroughly distracted!

Past friends (who've NEVER AGED) own my attention; and my former affections are redacted.

Teenage me and a teenage cheerleader, interrupted.

By ageless 9-10 year old chums; my dreams disrupted...

Alas, the woes of little old me;

I've lost the girl; even IN my dreams.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.