Poets logo

Dreamer

By: Amberlynn Steward

By Amberlynn StewardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
“Colors of Night”

“Dreamer”

I’ve been told since I was little that I need to get my head out of the clouds

I remember staring at the sky every time the sun painted it a different color.

I take a picture every time I see a rainbow.

I stay awake all night so I can spend time with the moon and stars.

I used to stare out my bedroom window up at the moon, wishing I could build a rocket to take me there.

The swing-set across the street would call my name in the middle of the night.

I’d sneak out while everyone was asleep just to talk to the stars.

I could swing for hours. I would pretend I could jump into the sky and become a star too.

I could draw a thousand pictures but I can’t express the calm I feel when I’m surrounded by fireflies.

I love the feel and sound of rain. I love the smell of the grass and concrete when it gets wet.

I love watching the trees dance in the wind. I love watching the leaves change colors in the fall.

I love the sound of crunching leaves on a sidewalk.

I love the way the snow looks when the full moon shines down on it.

It sparkles like something from a dream.

I love the crisp air in my lungs as I take in another breath, aware that this moment may be someone else’s last.

I don’t take advantage of these moments. I capture them and save them for my dreams.

I want to be a flower. I want to be a star. I want to stay in this beauty forever.

I am a dreamer.

nature poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Amberlynn Steward

I’m an artist, a writer, and a poet. I recently started an Instagram page in hopes of selling my artwork someday. My instagram page is moon_rabbit1212 I post all of my artwork in this page, I hope you enjoy it. 💜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.