Poets logo

Dream of Ash

A poem based on a recent dream

By Aaron MorrisonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Sky coated in rippling ash

Pyroclastic flow

Of iron gray and charcoal black

Ahead, up, and left

Flash of orange and red

Behind the ever present smoke and ash

Immobile cars

Like the fossils of long forgotten beasts

Line the streets

Screaming mouths

Of blasted out windows

Bare their jagged glass teeth

I join my team

In office basement hallway

Those things emerge from shadow

Cloaked Servants

Faceless evil

Eight feet tall and looming

I raise my gun

Vibration and heat

Spewing piercing metal

One is now upon me

Gloved hand raised and reaching

I must not let it have me

I strike in fear and anger

My wild strikes connecting

Enough to prevent the taking

My teammates are in danger

I fire into the Servant’s back

It turns attention now toward me

Our mission somehow successful

We return with jars of powder

Remnants for research collected

Commander acting strangely

Opens a jar and tosses

Clumps of powder to the ground

We stand on moving platform

Watching powder burn like acid

Making holes upon the ground

Min, her face demonic twisted

Strikes and tries to end us

We struggle to pin her down

Evil spell is lifted

Now Commander wicked grinning

His turn to be controlled

Greenish glow highlights eyes and teeth

I see the goal it has for me

Either dead or next to be possessed

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Aaron Morrison

Writer. Artist. I write horror primarily, but dabble in other genres here and there.

Influenced by Poe, Hawthorne, Ligotti, John Carpenter, and others.

Everyone has a story to tell.

Author of Miscellany Farrago

instagram: @theaaronmorrison

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    This was very intense! Good work! Keep it up!🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.