Poets logo

Dream

To those who believe

By Vana KiorkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tuck me in and sing a lullaby

Quiet the voices and ease my mind

I see their flesh when I close my eyes

And for years now I’ve had to run and hide

The chase has grown fond

No need to fear

But let me tell you my stories dear

I climb the mountains yet I drown

I throw my ropes to keep them around

Yes, I’m scared of what’s in store

But curious enough to want more

Monochrome birds that hold no feathers

And dance like puppets to magicians’ orders

I always strive to let them free

But when I do.. they fall in irony

So I fly with the wings of an angel

Holding tightly to accept my freedom

I look below only to see

That I’m now heading undersea

Exploring worlds of different colors

So red in hue that my vision gets duller

The whispers continue as I run

Of propaganda that cannot be undone

I walk through water that’s crystal clear

But I drown by the waves that hold you near

Opening my eyes, my heartbeat steady

Another day, another dream, not to worry

So sing me your lullaby before you go

Let me rest softly before the next show

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.