Poets logo

Dream Catcher

With me, always

By Skylar CallahanPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
30
Dream Catcher
Photo by Wolf Zimmermann on Unsplash

Even on days such as this, your name tugs at my tongue.

Clairvoyance would surmise that your presence in my head is your mirror.

Logic begs otherwise.

If it makes it easier, I will believe it.

Pretense keeps your name in the back of my throat; no one wants to hear it.

Silent microscopic cracks spread in the shell I pretend shields me from you.

Ever the persistent one, my companion in sleep.

heartbreaksad poetryAcrostic
30

About the Creator

Skylar Callahan

Hoping I can bring a little joy, fun, and escape to my readers. The genres of my writing are vast, as I am still getting to know myself as a writer. Thank you for your support! Happy reading!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Natalie Wilkinson24 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • A nice picture goes with the words. Congrats!

  • Anna 25 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Joe O’Connor25 days ago

    I like how you have taken the eclipse concept in a unique direction, and "Silent microscopic cracks spread in the shell I pretend shields me from you." is a fantastic line, full of both imagery and flow. Nicely done Skylar:)

  • Lily Séjor26 days ago

    I love the emotion in it. It’s a beautifully written piece. 💛

  • deeply resonates with the feeling of loss-- except for one thing -- i often think the shell of memory is the shield .

  • Wow amazing poem! Congrats on TS! 💕

  • Janee Austen26 days ago

    nice one

  • angela hepworth26 days ago

    Beautiful & sad poem! I love your haunted, desperate tone here, very emotional.

  • Ameer Bibi26 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 🎉 for top story You're an unstoppable force! Your drive and ambition are incredibly commendable.

  • D.K. Shepard26 days ago

    Very nice! Great acrostic and challenge entry!!

  • I really feel this so bad. Brilliant piece

  • Gina C.26 days ago

    Wow, this is wonderful and will sit with me for awhile. Amazing work ❤️

  • ROCK 26 days ago

    Oh this hit my heart hard, exceptionally well written and sad. I subscribed. I write lots of sad stuff, rather real life stuff and then now and then write something silly to break up my mind's monotony. This deserved Top Story!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld27 days ago

    Wonderful. Favorite line: "Pretense keeps your name in the back of my throat; no one wants to hear it."

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    Your pursuit of excellence sets a high standard for everyone. Keep aiming for the stars!

  • Tugs at my tongue. Congratulations

  • Andrea Corwin 29 days ago

    Oh gosh, dreams haunt you. Microscopic cracks, great line!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.