Poets logo

Drastic measures

—Jane Eyre

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Drastic measures
Photo by Mohammad Amin Javid on Unsplash

is this a SOS

Or is it something else?

Are you okay?

Don’t delay.

Now I need to know if you’re okay

I am

Worried

I hope it’s not a bad fever nightmare vision pecking at my heart like the mad raven only can

But I am going mad

I keep hearing your voice

Echoing, overlapping

Music that haunts me and soothes me

The mad raven separated me from you,

That’s the only reason I couldn’t answer your many calls,

But now I’m worried for you

Did the false preacher slip you away somewhere hidden?

Are you going through something that is too hard to speak of?

Please let me help you

I know I am only a man

But I am still your string-tied companion

Jane, with affection and kindness

Yours,

Edward

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    I find this poem quite intriguing and mysterious, with its vivid imagery and emotional tone that conveys a sense of concern and care for the person named Jane, leaving me wondering about the backstory and hoping for a positive resolution.👌👌👍

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    I like this, we’ll done 😀

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.