Poets logo

Dragon Wisdom

A life poem

By Nicole CaldwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When the dragon showed, I used to fuss.

And fear that he would swallow me up.

Each time that life was at its worst,

the dragon appeared like a curse.

One day, I mustered all of my spine

and yelled to the dragon, "Stop these hard times!"

Dragon: "Hardships don't come from me, my Friend."

D: "They're a part of life's flow and will come again."

Me: "Aren't you a beast that I must slay?"

D: "No, I'm a messenger with something to say."

I finally gained the courage to sit and talk.

And that clever old dragon taught me a lot.

D: "Listen to this with all your heart."

D: "I'm here to remind you, you're strong and smart."

D: "You always get through it. You never give up."

D: "You follow your truth and trust your gut."

D: "It leads you to a freedom freer than before."

D: "And the only reason that I come to your door

is to praise your knowing that comes faster and faster."

D: "I'm the herald of hope and you are my master."

The dragon bowed his head and then we hugged.

Instead of burning fire he's full of love.

Please know your dragons are also kind.

And no hard thing is impossible, as you will find.

Now when mine shows, I dance and twirl.

And hear my dragon say, "You've got this, Girl."

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Caldwell

I passionately share poetry of hope in our times.

Not blind hope, but the kind that burns no matter how strong the storm.

Through story and art, we burn brightly together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.