Poets logo

Downstairs

A Poem

By K.B. Silver Published 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Downstairs
Photo by Ludde Lorentz on Unsplash

The shared delusion

Amongst all sleepers

Falling, like Alice

My rabbit hole

A never-ending staircase

Descending into the depths

Not to hell

To the downstairs

The stairs keep extending on and on

After only a few tentative steps

I trip, as always

Not falling end over end

I slip into the unfinished space

The rectangular gaps

between the platforms

floating above a great open mouth

Teeth forming the rail

I see it disappear

As I plummet

into the stud-lined shaft

Tongue rolling over

Shutting out the light

Which is better?

Falling forever

Or waking

With a thud

Downstairs

K.B. Silver

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirationalheartbreakchildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

K.B. Silver

Writing to sort the trapped ideas, and unsaid words left inside my mind. My brand is BlockWife. I am reselling, writing, and creating content on multiple platforms, check me out on link tree https://linktr.ee/blockwife

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.