Poets logo

Downfall

From the ancient Greek 'ékleipsis': the darkening of a heavenly body

By Huwaida IshaaqPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Like

You had me, as if I was never my own.

You had parked you car by the curb,

taken off your shoes and left them by the door,

inside, so no one would notice you passing through.

We chatted and then you patted on the seat

next to you. I shifted within reach,

falling into your shadow, like clockwork

This acrostic poem was inspired by the etymology of the word eclipse, which is the prompt for a current challenge.

Eclipse comes from the ancient Greek noun ékleipsis which means "the abandonment", "the downfall", or "the darkening of a heavenly body" and I wanted to give the idea of being swallowed whole by placing the key word down the middle of the poem. And because of that, it doesn't qualify for the actual challenge! I might write another one which adheres to the rules.

Meantime, I hope you enjoyed this piece (show some love). Feel free to share your thoughts on how I can improve this or how you would do it :)

Acrostic
Like

About the Creator

Huwaida Ishaaq

Stuffed my dreams in a closet but they didn't like it. So, I walked in there and made a pact: I'd take them out for a walk - one dream, one year at a time. The choice led me to long-term traveling and becoming a dream coach. Enjoy :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.