Poets logo

Doomed....

You and I are Destined to Fail

By Alisha WilkinsPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Doomed....
Photo by Mihail Tregubov on Unsplash

Doomed…

I feel like we are destined to be apart

That life has thrown us a twisted curve.

I’ll only be able to admire your smile from afar.

Destined to love you at a distance.

My anxiety is killing me

I just want the truth

Are we doomed to be miserable?

And apart

~

I refuse to play games

I refuse to be just another woman in your life

I refuse to be another trophy

Or a pawn

~

It’s so dark

In this space alone

There’s only light at the sound of your voice

Am I prepared to lose?

This not knowing is weighing me down

Washing over my face

And making it difficult to breathe again

~

It doesn’t matter if I lose

I’ll always be in love with you.

It seems like this is destined to fail,

But I’ll be there regardless

I’m standing,

I’m drowning,

I’m trying to understand,

Everything about you.

sad poetryheartbreakFriendshipFree Verse

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Lindsey Altomabout a month ago

    I feel this on a deep level. There will always be him even if it's not meant to be...I'll always love him. I can't help myself, just like you can't help yourself. I guess we have to learn to focus on and love ourselves more but damn is that hard! Love you sis!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    How raw and heart wrenching! A very poignant piece!

Alisha WilkinsWritten by Alisha Wilkins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.