Poets logo

Don't go near the building

I wish someone had warned them...

By Geetanjali NaiduPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Don't go near the building
Photo by m wrona on Unsplash

There is a legend about that building in the area.

I didn’t believe it of course.

It's just a silly story adult told their children to scare them away from it.

Everyone knew fairies weren’t real.

So, this was no reason whatsoever I should feel guilty about daring to go wander inside the fairy ring beside it.

“But that’d make others mad at me!”, Mahi cried.

“Well then, I guess you’re too little to play with us”, Meera said in return.

Meera looked up at her brother and other friends with big black eyes brimming with tears.

Her lips quivered, but she managed not to start crying somehow.

“Fine!”, Meera said.

She turned around and stomped off towards the old, overgrown grasses near the building compound as she marched towards the building.

“But if I get stolen away, I’m telling mama!”, Meera shouted over her shoulder.

Mahi's brother turned back towards his friends.

They laughed at my childish belief as they resumed the game.

Mahi didn’t notice his sister never came back until Mama asked where she was at dinner.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Geetanjali Naidu

I can’t remember the horror fiction I read or when I read it.

But I have a stash of real-life-based horror.

Writing short horror fiction will always be my favorite pass time.

Ready for some spine-chilling short horror fiction?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.