Poets logo

Don't Go Into The Forest

A Butterfly Cinquain

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 2 years ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
55
Photo by Okan You on Unsplash

One day

Timothy Finn

Went into the forest

Oblivious to the werewolf there

Oh no!

The werewolf saw Timothy Finn

It caught him by his neck

Its dinner served

So yum!

~~~~~

The butterfly cinquain is a 9-line poem which takes the shape of a butterfly when the lines are centered.  The syllable count per line is two, four, six, eight, two, eight, six, four, two (2-4-6-8-2-8-6-4-2).

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

excerpts
55

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman18 days ago

    Another interesting form! Loved this one!

  • Chloe Gilholy5 months ago

    The werewolf might have to cancel its JustEat order.

  • Amazing Storytelling 😁🩸and Thanks for sharing This, I Now Love The Butterfly 🦋 Cincaquin📝♥️😉

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I couldn’t even attempt this style of writing Well done

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I still love the formatting of this one, but I makes me wish Vocal could be more customizable!

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    Short, but deliciously written!

  • a dash8 months ago

    Excellent madam

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Dharrsheena, I love the formatting and way of explaining the type of poem after! I always feel like I'm learning so much form you! It made for a great quick little micro fiction with tension and a tragic end! 💜

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Oof, that was like ripping off a bandaid! The pain and horror of his death, gone in a flash, yet still has a lingering sting. I’m still feeling a shock. Yet also, a good warning, haha. Stay away from forests.

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Caught my attention! Well done!

  • Gideon 6ixabout a year ago

    This was great, it reminds me of one of those creepy nursery rhymes from scary movies.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    wonderfully done, as always.

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    This is great! I know it’s a horror poem, but the last line made me smile. It was cute. ❤️

  • I love this so much. You have such a distinct style that, even if I didn't know this was yours, I think I'd know it was yours. Well done 🖤

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Great Job. It was short but told a story. 👏

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was so cool!!! You have true talent, and I love reading your work. Well done on this one :)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Superb!!!💖💕

  • Lori Lamothe2 years ago

    I'm a little embarrassed to say I teach poetry and never knew about this form. So cool. Wonderfully lovely and concise.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Unbounded Soul2 years ago

    Lovely, I didn't know about "The butterfly cinquain"! This is really amazing!

  • S J Dolding2 years ago

    Loved it, cleverly concise!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Unique and interesting.. I might try a chinquain too.

  • Nicely done, Dharrsheena! A creative way to play with the horror genre too. :-)

  • Wow. Thank you. I will have to attempt a butterfly cinquain now.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Sweet!!!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.