Poets logo

DOMUS MEUS

Home is my past, my present and my destination.

By Kelly GirnasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My life is a map of all my experiences.

As life began, HOME was where desperation competed with sorrow.

Apathy outlined parental shadows -

corners smothered in clutter and dust.

A household haunted by past disappointments.

Hope long abandoned.

Sometimes HOME was a feeling.

Warm hugs from an elderly neighbor.

Kind words spoken by a favorite teacher.

A friend's encouraging smile.

More than once, HOME was built upon youthful desire.

Heady lust, dominated rooms scented of raspberry incense.

Change of address usually included a male "ego placebo".

No solid foundation - a house of cards.

Eventually, I prayed for a strong wind.

Although not expected, he arrived right on time.

Warmed my spirit, while lighting my ghosts on fire.

As I exhaled ivory smoke, wisps of opaque dreams took shape.

HOME resides in every goal achieved and milestone celebrated.

Life is constructed of change.

Earthly years caress aging bodies.

Lines and wrinkles created on the map of human skin,

reveal clues about our soul's journey.

HOME exists in every mind we reach and heart we touch.

Tinsel tresses shine like glitter on dark velvet-

my well-earned crown.

Once a year, I will joyfully blow out candles on the melt -

until my own is extinguished.

Each sparkling, unspoken wish -

Brings me closer to HOME.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Girnas

When I create, I feel alive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.