Poets logo

Does Rest Exist at all?

Can I... sleep? Please?

By Jaqueline GrenierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Does Rest Exist at all?
Photo by Tran Phu on Unsplash

True rest evades me. Can I not sleep without a dream? Or dream a dream that's beautiful?

Dreamland I know is in the head, but its comforting. And the comfort is present no longer.

Cannot sleep, knowing that I cannot speak words of the positive heart. Cannot sleep knowing things are not being fulfilled.

Cannot sleep, knowing cruel, harsh truth, sometimes must be the way to apprehend reality.

That is the life and reality of a society that judges the true nature of a single person... simply because she differs from everyone else.

Thoughts. Acts. Personality. Clothes.

Everything.

And she cares not for she is the truth society cannot face for she is the diamond in the rough.

In short, society is the Pyramid Scheme we all unfortunately know...

Save for her.

For she knows true nature of this cruel, cold-hearted world.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jaqueline Grenier

I always felt like there were colours all around my head, I needed a way to put them down into paper. Brain going 1000 mi per second, I can put down my thoughts with ease. With several books on the horizon, my future seems bright again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.