Poets logo

Do you love me yet?

(Love flourishes in a world of acceptance)

By ObyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Do you love me yet?
Photo by Cory Woodward on Unsplash

I did what you said. Do you love me yet? I laid out my life how you want it to be, A doll in your house playing happy families. I followed your script, learned all my lines. Played the part you wrote, no room to improvise. Before I was born your expectations were set, You moulded me into the image in your head. I did what you said. Do you love me yet?

Achievement is money; the mantra you teach. Every goal you set Is just out of reach. I come back with A's, you say where’s the star? I get the job you want but I'm still below par. Even though I'm unhappy you tell me life’s tough. I follow your orders but it's still not enough. Striped of my colours ‘til there's nothing but grey, Rainbows are illusions, you remind me each day. But my true colours are too bright to hide, The internal battle rages inside. I did what you said. Do you love me yet?

The veil is lifted, no matter how hard I try, You'll never be proud, your standards are too high. So I stray from your path, explore being me, I sing and I write, release my creativity. Suddenly aware of the possibility That I can be free, I can be me! I try to be happy, But you're still in my head. Why don't you love me yet?

You tell me I'll fail if I don't make money, But I've realised the truth and it's sad yet it's funny. It took me a while but now I can see, I don't need your love if you can't share it freely. But it's deeper than that I start to realise… I don't think I've ever seen love fill your eyes Nor fulfilment in your life or even peace of mind. It's not me you can't love, You've never loved yourself! All this time I was blaming myself And blaming you For what you put me through!

I didn't see your struggle, locked in the grey, Discontentment fills your everyday. But I can show you the way. Let your inner self escape Lose yourself in your thoughts And be proud of who you are. Learn you love yourself, Throw away obligation And all rigid reason Embrace all your passions Let my heart be your beacon. Together we'll find the happiness you seek, It starts with acceptance, embracing your unique. I love myself now But it took time to get. Let’s embark on your journey. Do you love yourself yet?

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Oby

Writing from the heart, for fun. Thank you to anyone reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.