Poets logo

Do You Know Who I am?

Can you tell me?

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Do You Know Who I am?
Photo by Andreas Wagner on Unsplash

I woke up this morning, opened my eyes.

I was alone, and alone was I.

Who am I, where am I-I-I-I?

So many questions, no answers, not even sweet lies.

Like a newborn fawn, feet struggle to hold me,

while I stumble drunkenly into the street.

There are people all around me, but my gaze; they won't meet.

Why won't they look at me? Why don't they see!

Can you help me, please?

I'm lost and alone.

I'm begging on my knees,

whatever I did, I will atone!

Why won't they answer?

Why won't they look?

Don't treat me like cancer,

all I want is what they took.

Please, someone, tell me.

Do you know who I am?

I have a desperate need,

Just my name, be it Billy or Sam.

Why won't they speak?

Why don't I know?

A hand on my shoulder makes my guts weak.

A voice, 'come, child, let's go.'

Do you know me, I beg.

'I do,' The stranger nods.

You are my charge, and your dead,

It's time to meet God.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.